DAMAGES
SOME EXAMPLES OF NOTABLE BUILDINGS THAT WERE HIT OR DAMAGED, IN ORDER TO BETTER UNDERSTAND THE DESTRUCTION CAUSED BY WAR.
Chiesa di San Francesco
Teatro Comunale
Chiesa di Santo Stefano
Strade di Cotignola
Municipio
Caserma - Magazzino del Comune - Negozi e macelleria
Palazzo Sforza
Torre D'Acuto
Monastero delle Orfane
Scuola Arti e Mestieri
Scuole Centro
DAMAGES
SOME EXAMPLES OF NOTABLE BUILDINGS THAT WERE HIT OR DAMAGED TO BETTER UNDERSTAND THE DESTRUCTION CAUSED BY THE WAR.
Chiesa di San Francesco
Teatro Comunale
Chiesa di Santo Stefano
Strade di Cotignola
Municipio
Caserma - Magazzino del Comune - Negozi e macelleria
Palazzo Sforza
Torre D'Acuto
Monastero delle Orfane
Scuola Arti e Mestieri
Scuole Centro
DAMAGES
SOME EXAMPLES OF NOTABLE BUILDINGS THAT WERE HIT OR DAMAGED TO BETTER UNDERSTAND THE DESTRUCTION CAUSED BY THE WAR.
Chiesa di San Francesco
Teatro Comunale
Chiesa di Santo Stefano
Municipio
Caserma - Magazzino del Comune - Negozi e macelleria
Palazzo Sforza
Torre D'Acuto
Monastero delle Orfane
Scuola Arti e Mestieri
Scuole Centro
DATA FROM A RESEARCH CONDUCTED BY STUDENTS OF THE “LUIGI VAROLI” MIDDLE SCHOOL IN COTIGNOLA (PART OF THE I.C. “DON STEFANO CASADIO”)
DURING THE 2022/2023 SCHOOL YEAR IN COLLABORATION WITH THE MUNICIPALITY OF COTIGNOLA.
DATA FROM A RESEARCH CONDUCTED BY STUDENTS OF THE “LUIGI VAROLI” MIDDLE SCHOOL IN COTIGNOLA (PART OF THE I.C. “DON STEFANO CASADIO”) DURING THE 2022/2023 SCHOOL YEAR IN COLLABORATION WITH THE MUNICIPALITY OF COTIGNOLA.
Several shells hit the building, causing extensive damage. Five shells were fired on 5 December 1944. On December 10, around 8pm, a shell struck the main nave, causing significant damage. On December 14 more shells fell on the convent, causing extremely severe damage.
The church was built between 1484 and 1494 in the purest Romanesque-Gothic style. Inside is the incorrupt body of Blessed Antonio Bonfadini, also known as the ‘Saint of Cotignola’, who died in 1482 and whose remains were venerated by Pope Clement VIII in 1598.
/
Not rebuilt; demolished following the conflict.
The theater, built around 1840 and based on a design by Girolamo Emiliani, contained a total of 42 boxes distributed across the ground floor, first floor and second floor. It had a maximum capacity of 500-800 people. It was built on the site of a former grain warehouse. From 1935 onward, it was also used as a movie theater.
The bombings of 1944–45 completely destroyed the façade, the square bell tower, the organ, the roof, and the nave.
One-third of the building was destroyed. The bell tower was destroyed.
Built in 1376 and rebuilt in 1513. The bell tower features a square base and a massive structure, typical of medieval towers.
/
The current town hall of Cotignola.
A three-story building constructed of terracotta and featuring a clock tower with two bells; the ground floor was lined with a portico supported by marble columns. The building served as the Town Hall, though parts of it were used by stores such as a grocery, a cafe, fabric and monopoly goods shops.
/
A two-story brick building with a tiled roof, used as Carabinieri barracks and featuring fish and meat shops as well as a pottery store; the upper floor contained rooms for civilian use, used as municipal offices, warehouses or available for use as military quarters.
/
The building was completely destroyed by shells and air-to-ground.
Today, parts of the building still incorporate its original architectural features, including the entrance and the terracotta rose window. Faithfully reconstructed in 1961, it currently serves as a historical museum.
A building constructed of terracotta and covered with terracotta tiles, two stories above ground, used as a historical museum, archive and library, as well as occasionally being used for offices, headquarters or as military barracks. Originally built in 1376 by Giovanni Attendoli, father of Muzio Attendolo, founder of the Sforza dynasty. Designated a National Monument for Art and History since 1892.
/
The building that housed the School of Arts and Crafts was constructed of terracotta and had a terracotta roof. It stood two stories high. In existence since the early 20th century, it was located on Via Orfane and also featured a large courtyard. The subjects taught there included painting, woodcarving, wrought ironwork, ceramics, etc. Before the war the building had been renovated to meet the school’s new needs.
/
Founded in 1659 by Don Gaspare Bolis, it was intended as a cloistered convent for the Poor Clares. Following the Napoleonic suppressions, the convent was closed and later converted into an orphanage for girls. It housed girls aged 7 to 14.
Reduced to rubble. The bronze bell, dating from 1616, remained intact.
Opened in 1929. 27 windows on the main façade.
ADDITIONAL PHOTOGRAPHS
ADDITIONAL PHOTOGRAPHS














































